hedgehogLast Thursday I led a workshop for honorary curators as part of Warrington Museum’s Cabinets Of Curiosity project. We discussed how to interpret a range of objects including this fetching hedgehog. We considered appropriate language and reference points for audiences as diverse as families, people with sensory impairments, experts, those in a hurry and aliens. Over a cup of tea we developed interpretation ideas to test on the rest of the group. Thanks to everyone involved for their contribution.

…Excellent and really informative…it has made me think more carefully about presenting information. The session was very well structured and the hands on exercises were really effective.

Maria

I really enjoyed the way we were invited to engage with the subject, try our hand at doing some writing, and give our own criticisms and compliments… I had begun to draft some labels together but now these will have to be put under scrutiny. A good thing!

Judith

Thursday’s seminar was very interesting and fantastically challenging. It made you think about things that you wouldn’t normally think about. I always thought that writing texts for a museum was easy to do but now I know otherwise!

Steph

Enjoyed last week. I think I picked up an English degree after all the listening.

Billy

